Thinking on the up

I know I’ve ranted about this before but it’s on my mind at the moment and it can’t really be said to much. I believe that people can be categorised one of two ways. Those who help themselves and those who don’t. I think we understimate the power of the human mind. It’s not that difficult to see how you can sabotage something by thinking about it in a negative way. You don’t give it a bloody chance! In fact, I think there are people that sabotage their whole lives in this way!

I was talking to my acupuncturist (it still feels weird saying that) last night about the power of positive thought. She commented on how refreshing she finds my positivity and how lucky I am to be like that. I thought for a while about whether it’s luck, or whether it’s a choice I make. I think it’s both. Some people are naturally positive thinkers. Other people work hard at it. The more positive you are, the easier it becomes and the more fulfillment you get from things. Difficult experiences (infertility, epilepsy) become manageable parts of life.

I know people who have a very different approach to life. The glass is always half empty. When something happens they immediately look for the negative. They start to wonder what bad thing could be about to happen as a result. They waste time worrying about something that hasn’t happened yet – and may never happen at all! I am unsure as to whether they are aware that they do it and choose to continue, or whether it is just inherently programmed into them.

One of the nice things about being a positive person, is that you attract other positive people. People don’t much like hanging around with doom-mongers. Life just seems more fun when you spend it with someone that is excited about living.

So smile. The world will smile back.

Leave a comment