Lest we forget

Today I am in the most amazing mood. I am positively glowing. Tomorrow is a public holiday and I’m planning on spending the day doing pretty much nothing. Oh, life is good.

Tomorrow is ANZAC Day. It’s purpose is to remember the Australian and New Zealand soldiers who fought in Gallipoli during World War 1. Over ten thousand soldiers lost their lives. Although most (if not all) of the surviving soldiers from that war are now dead, it is still celebrated with dawn ceremonies and parades all over the country. I have never been to one.

I have never been particularly interested in history. It’s my worst Trivial Pursuit subject (followed closely by geography). People that remember dates that have nothing to do with them fascinate me. I could tell you the date that my grandmother died 15 years ago, or the date that we moved into our first house. I can list every public holiday date throughout the year, but I have no idea of the date that WW1 started. Or WW2. Or any war, for that matter. Those dates just don’t stick.

Still, that won’t stop me from making the most of the day off. It’s the last public holiday until Labour Day in October. It’s always frustrated me that they are all grouped at the start of the year and then we have a long winter with no breaks. I suppose on the up side, we get to make the most of the good weather during summer.

So that’s tomorrow. You won’t be hearing from me. With any luck I’ll be reading my book on the couch and stuffing myself with Anzac biscuits.

Leave a Reply

