A majority decision.

So after months of soul searching I’ve decided not to fight in Fight Night II.

I went to the introduction seminar last week to get all the info. I had a plan. I figured I’d remind them of my seizures and see if they said that I couldn’t enter. That would make the decision for me. They didn’t. So I walked out feeling as confused as ever. I went home and talked to Shaun about it some more. His position hadn’t changed. He brought up the ‘feeding me with a spoon for the rest of my life if something goes wrong’ argument. Great.

I brought up the ‘how is it any different from the sparring that I do now?’ counter-argument. Not so great. That made him challenge the fact that I spar at all. Shite. What was I thinking? Maybe I’ve already taken too many head shots!

The one thing that had changed for me was that I was starting to realise that the training regime is pretty inflexible. It would actually involve less training that I currently do, but there would be more variety. Unfortunately you can’t just do it when you want. There are compulsory Saturday morning sessions. Considering I seem to actually be home about 1 in 4 weekends, that could be tricky. I was still keen though.

I decided to talk with my trainer. I laid it all out for him. He told me that he’d support me no matter what decision I made. Well, that was a good start. If he had’ve said he wouldn’t, I’d wonder what the hell I was doing there. Then he delivered the clincher.

If the people that love you aren’t behind you, you’re not going to enjoy the journey.

So there you have it folks.

4 thoughts on “A majority decision.

  1. Only one thing worries me; you listened to your trainer more than your friends, family and husband?

    I didn’t want to listen to them, they were telling me what I didn’t want to hear – that they didn’t want me to do something that I wanted to do.

    My trainer didn’t tell me not to do it, he told me I wouldn’t enjoy it.

    There’s a big difference.

  2. Sarah, it seems to me you are running a big risk here for the sake of enjoying yourself. Have you considered how much worry / strain you are putting on Sean and your family and friends by ignoring their feelings?

    From what you have said you are putting yourself into serious risk just because you are having fun doing it. Is that a good reason to jeopardize your relationship with your husband?

    Honestly love have you ever considered that Sean may wake up one morning alone while his wife is out boozing yet again and decide that this isn’t what he wants for his life ? It must be very lonely for him doing that.

    Just an aside but last night I was at a dinner party and the conversation came around to blogs and I brought up that I had been reading yours for a couple of months and I described your lifestyle. Without exception every man there said they would have left you long ago being treated like that by a wife.

    They dont really know you of course but I have to admit I don’t think I would either … sorry 😦

  3. I have way too much to say to response to that in a comment Mike. I’ll post – just as soon as I get home.

    Needless to say, I’m sad you feel that way. I’m not sure if I’ve miscommunicated or if you just don’t understand how much Shaun loves me (and I him).

    It’s all about trust and letting someone be who they are.

    But it’s nice to know that I’m a dinner party conversation!

Leave a comment