Feverish

This morning I woke up with the most unbelievable hayfever. It didn’t actually have anything to do with hay, probably more likely cats, but it sure was debilitating. Unfortunately I didn’t really become aware of it until I was half way to the gym, by which stage it was too late to do anything about it.

So I suffered through step class choking on my own snot. My eyes closed up to small slits and I felt like scratching all my skin off. I wet my towel and used it to try and cool the burning fire that was my face, but it had limited results.

As soon as the class was over I drove to work at 2 billion kph (it may have been closer to 1 billion, but I’m using a bit of storyteller’s license here) and ate all the antihistamines that I could find in my desk before hitting the showers. By the time I was clean, the fever had passed.

It got me thinking about the magic that is drugs. OK, modern medicine to be more precise.( I spent all of my 20s marvelling over the magic that is drugs.) How did someone figure out what chemicals to use to fix hayfever? Of ALL the chemicals in the world, how did they figure out which ones would work?

When I first started taking antiseizure meds, they contraindicated with antihistamines. I took both one day as a sort of experiment and fell asleep at my desk. I went to the gym to try and wake up and I fell asleep in the middle of the bench press track in pump class. Literally. Lucky it wasn’t the squat track. It would seem that my body has become used to the combination because now it doesn’t seem to be an issue.

So anyay, I wonder if someone gave a rat hayfever in the olden days and then tested chemicals on it.

Leave a Reply

