If you run too fast you end up alone.

I’m sitting at the airport and my head is full of random words that, if pulled together, would read like one of those greeting cards that are both poignant and sad, but beautiful at the same time. There is something about doing airport admin by yourself that is inherently sad, even though nothing sad has happened. I always seem to go home from work trips feeling like I haven’t slept for days. And I guess that sitting in the departure lounge marks the end of something and the start of real life again.

I have a lot to look forward to at the moment. The next month is going to be a busy one full of crazy experiences. I’m going to be a best(wo)man for the first (and only, not doubt) time. I’m going to my first (and only, not doubt) stag’s do and I’m backing it up off a hen’s night. Ouch. I suspect that next time I come to the office I’ll be slightly more jaded.

Today is Father’s Day. I’m looking forward to seeing my dad tonight. I spent some time this weekend with a friend who’s father is sick and it has reminded me how much I appreciate mine. Dad was diagnosed with bowel cancer a couple of years back and my world turned upside down. I had never before been faced with the mortality of my parents. As it turns out, the diagnosis was wrong and he’s still as healhty as ever, but it was a good wake up call. Nothing is forever. Not even the stuff that has been so far.

You’d be forgiven for thinking that this post sounds a bit depressing. That’s not actually how I feel. I’m in a good place at the moment, but I only sit down to write when I’m feeling philosophical. It is true that I’m more emotional than I used to be though. I think having kids does that to you. These days I have an acute awareness of how other people affect me and I find it frustrating that I don’t have control over that. I won’t pretend to be someone that I’m not though – I live for the moment and you can’t do that if you’re not true to yourself. Great things don’t happen without collateral damage of some kind. But if you run too fast you find yourself all alone. I think it’s important to remember that. I should tattoo it somewhere.

That’ll do for now. I have a plane to catch and a life to get on with.

Leave a Reply

