Baby brain – it’s a real phenomenon

I’ve had an interesting couple of days. Yesterday I did something royally stupid but I’ve learned a couple of lessons from it. I have a jailbroken iPhone. I got it before they were supported on our network. We are joined at the hip – at least we would be if it had a hip. Which it doesn’t. Although to be honest, I have enough hip for both of us at present. But I digress.

I had this moment a few weeks back where I realised that if something were to happen to my phone, I would lose not only a years worth of phone numbers, but also a whole lot of notes and calendar appointments. In short, I’d be screwed. So I added to my list of things to do when I finished work ‘figure out how to back up iPhone’. Yesterday I figured I’d give it a go. I know it has to do with iTunes, which until now I have only ever used to maintain my iPods. I plugged my phone in and iTunes told me that there was a software update that it wanted to apply. Seemed like a good idea.

Fatal error.

You can’t update jailbroken phones. Everyone knows that. I know that. Now. It’s fair to say that it wasn’t my best work. iTunes dealt with the whole situation by restoring my phone to it’s factory settings, which now of course means that it doesn’t recognise my SIM card. Eeeeeek. I suppose it means it has also cleared the memory, although that remains to be seen.

I had a moment of panic and then called the company that I bought it off, already jailbroken. They have an unlocking service. I figured I’d just get them to do it again. If they were in the country. Which it would seem that they’re not. Bloody hell. I have left two messages with his message service as well as emailing him. I feel like some sort of stalker. I had to leave my home phone number of course, so now I don’t want to leave the house in case he calls! I have a temporary cell now, so I want to call back and leave that number, but there’s only so much stalking I’ll allow myself.

Anyway, some good has come out of all of this. It’s forced me to do a clean out of my SIM card. I know that as far as good things go, that is pretty low down on the scale, but I’m trying to see the bright side here… The temp phone means that I won’t be stranded should I go into labour. It does mean that I wouldn’t have internet access in hospital though. Some people might consider that to be a good thing. I’m not one of those people.

But hell. It’s a phone. The fact that I have two healthy babies growing has made me put things into perspective. There are some things that actually are important in life and phones really aren’t one of them.

Wow. I’m turning all responsible. Who woulda thought it?

Leave a Reply

