Controversial

Well, the last couple of weeks sure have been interesting ones, blog wise. I have to say that I was starting to get a bit bored with the whole thing… I’ve been blogging 5 days a week on average for the last 3 years (although I have been taking the odd day off here or there of late). When I started, I was really doing it for myself. I enjoyed the writing and it was really cathartic. It was my way of getting things off my chest. I wrote about whatever was on top for me. Never in my wildest dreams did it occur to me that 100+ people would stop by and read it every day. Especially considering I only told a handful of people about it.

I used to be bursting with things to write about. I had 30 odd years of stuff bottled up. I would have a pile of draft ideas waiting in the wings for those days when something didn’t immediately spring to mind. I even logged on and wrote a couple of times during my honeymoon. That’s dedication.

But then it started becoming a bit routine. There were days when I couldn’t be bothered. I felt like I’d created a bit of a monster. How could I stop writing when I knew so many people were checking in each day? Sure – it was pressure I put on myself, but it was pressure none the less.

So I kept writing.

And then one day last week I sat here for about 20 minutes starting posts then trashing them. Nothing was working for me. The phone rang and it was a friend to whom I had recommended the particular brand of reusable nappies that I plan on using, several years ago when she had her first child. After having a brief conversation with her I wrote about it. And whaddya know? It hit a nerve with a few people. It wasn’t my intention to offend anyone – I was thinking of the people that have the decision to make in the future, rather than the ones that made the wrong one (in my opinion) in the past. But it motivated a couple of you into commenting.

That is one thing I have always found fascinating about my blog. The stats tell me how many of you are reading, but there are very rarely any comments. I have no idea who you are, but I know I don’t know (most of) you. So the comments came as a surprise.

And then I wrote about my truck. And that got you going as well. And readership over the last couple of weeks has swelled. It’s surprising how many people do nappy research online.

It’s amazing what a bit of controversial writing can do.

Tomorrow I might write about all the other stuff that you guys do wrong.

2 thoughts on “Controversial

Leave a Reply

