Germs

I thought I was being super sensible. It’s the new me. Taking precautions to make sure that I stay healthy. It’s kinda strange, but I’m getting used to it. Yesterday I felt like I was coming down with a cold. My day was pretty normal until about 3pm when my nose just started running of it’s own accord. Not particularly pleasant. Then I started to feel that kind of exhaustion that you get when you’re sick. It wasn’t unbearable. It was more just sorta niggly. So I rode out the day and headed home.

I had quite a lot of work to do last night but I wasn’t up to it so I turned the heater on and holed up on the couch with a blanket. By about 7pm I could hardly keep my eyes open so I headed to bed early. As a result I woke up at 5am today. I tested my throat with a few swallows and decided that it was still borderline so I skipped boxing. I felt incredibly proud of myself.

I got up around 6am and decided that I felt good enough to go to work. Just a little low on energy – but it’s Friday after all. Not much is happening around the office. I did my morning stuff and got to my desk around 7:45am. It took about 5 minutes for me to start feeling like crap. The nose running has resumed (what is with that?) and it’s a bit of a struggle to stay upright in my chair. My throat is definitely not normal and I’m feeling hotter than I should.

 It’s now just over an hour later and I’m feeling like complete and utter crap. I don’t think I’m going to last the day. In fact, I’ll be lucky to last the morning.

Leave a Reply

