Summer, wherefore art though?

Something crazy happened in the night. Summer left. It did a runner from the party without saying goodbye. You know, like how you just sneak out so that people don’t try and make you stay? I sure as hell would have tried to make it. I’m not ready to say goodbye yet. We had the best summer on record for decades. It’s the best I remember in my lifetime (aside from the fact that all summers were magic when you’re a kid). The farmer’s don’t think so – it droughted for months. But I’m not a farmer, unless you count my beans. But Shaun says that a bean farmer isn’t a real farmer.

It’s not really winter yet. It was still 15 degrees when I got up this morning, but it’s kinda grey and dark. It’s just not summer any more. The leaves haven’t turned yet, so it’s not even beautiful. It’s just transitory. I’m wearing a long sleeved shirt for the first time this year. With shorts, but still…

The weirdest thing about this whole situation is that it’s still daylight savings! With our new 4 week extension (2 at each end) it means that it’s pretty damn dark in the mornings now. Not that I’m complaining. The long evenings more than make up for it. But that all comes to a close this weekend.

It’s the end of summer. Damn it. 

Leave a Reply

