Use the force.

I have written in the past about the world’s most annoying man. For those that can’t be bothered reading that post, I’m referring to a guy from my office. He is one of those people that has the power to annoy you just by walking into a room. It’s uncanny.

Well, today he leaves. He was kinda managed out. I think it became apparent to him that no one wanted him here. But it’s funny how your feelings about someone can change when you realise that you won’t see them again. There is still no doubt that the man is up there in my top 5 most irritating people, but that doesn’t mean I don’t care about how he feels.

The most interesting thing about the guy in question is that he is the only middle aged person I know that loves Star Wars. Not just loves – is obsessed by. He keeps weapons under his desk and his phone number is made up of the words YODA and JEDI. We just had his farewell morning tea and his leaving gift was a light saber. To be fair, it’s pretty cool…

I organised the morning tea and a farewell lunch. I’ve gone soft. It started when he told me he was leaving in the coffee room and he was trying not to cry. My heart broke for him. I’ve always known that underneath his peskiness he means well – he just has social issues.

So all in all, it’s a good thing that he’s leaving. Working here will be a lot less stressful on a daily basis. But a part of me will miss him.

Annoying guy, I wish you well.

Leave a Reply

