Bloody spammers

I am so embarrassed/frustrated/wild this morning. It would seem that some bastard in India somewhere has made me look like an idiot.

About a month ago I got a ‘friend request’ for a social networking site. I thought it was slightly strange because it was from my personal trainer and when I asked him about it he looked at me as if I was nuts. So I didn’t think anything more of it.

Until this morning.

I got a message from someone I barely know, asking if I sent them an invitation to be their friend. What the hell? There are better ways of making friends I would have thought. It would seem that it sent an email to everyone in my contacts list. All 595 of them. It says that Sarah Taylor wants them to be her friend. Bloody great.

It’s sent it to business associates and help desks and online shops that I’ve used. It’s sent them to everyone.

So this is my advice to you. If anyone asks you to join Yaari, give it a WIDE berth.

6 thoughts on “Bloody spammers

  1. Mike – I do.

    John – I don’t know. I expect I filled out a form like with Facebook. It was months ago so I don’t remember. As I told you, they breed on suckers and I guess they found one.

    Tijmen – I highly recommend not clicking it!

    Dan – You certainly are that person. You were the first of many. I appreciate it.

  2. Well now, I guess we’re going to have to do something about the “barely know” part, now aren’t we? (I mean this in the most polite and respectful manner, of jcourse.)

Leave a Reply

