Is it really all that bad?

It always sucks getting back into the office after a couple of weeks on holiday. It takes a week to relax completely and then all to quickly it’s over. I’m back in the air conditioned office, looking out the window at the cloudless sky, wondering how the hell I’m going to make it through without having a day sleep. 

Each person that I see for the first time for the new year asks how the holidays were and I hear myself griping about being back in the office. We’re all doing it. It’s just one of those stock standard responses.

“How are you?”
“I’d be much better if I wasn’t here.”

Yesterday I heard someone respond to the above dialogue with a very valid point. There are people out there that would love to have my job. There are people out there for whom it might make the difference between happiness and destitution. I have a friend who is currently out of work and is miserable. No doubt she’d do pretty much anything to be sitting here at my desk, earning money whilst looking out at that cloudless sky. Come to think of it, I wouldn’t have had the money to spend enjoying my holiday were it not for this job. So I guess I’ll come up with a different response next time someone asks how I am.

One thing that I particularly love about this time of year is the fact that the days are so long. I finish work at 4:30pm and get home before 5. It doesn’t get dark until around 9:30 pm, meaning I still have several hours to walk in the park or bbq on the deck. It means that my work day is actually more like a work half day. I’m trying to manage my freelance workload so that I can make the most of that time.

The best piece of advice I can give with regard to making it through long days is to plan a daily highlight. Even just a small one. Something that you look forward to. It’s a good life strategy in general. Take enjoyment out of every day.

Today I have kickboxing after work. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

