With resolve

I don’t believe in new years resolutions. It’s not that I don’t believe in resolutions per se, it’s more that I don’t believe in making them at new year. If something is important enough to change, why wait until Jan 1st to change it?

Having said that, I made one this year. There was pressure on. Everyone asked relentlessly about resolutions for the entire first week of January, so I caved. This year I resolve to attend every wedding I am invited to naked. (I originally said every wedding but have since conceded that it would be more appropriate just to go to the ones I am invited to.) I accept that it’s rather an ambitious resolution, but so is losing 20kgs or quitting biting your nails.

I sincerely hope that I’m only invited to summer weddings. Naked with a tan is significantly more acceptable. Perhaps in winter I might have to go with body painting. Perhaps I could paint myself white and trot down the aisle before the bride arrives.

But back to resolutions in general. Why do people need to be told when to resolve to do things that they should be doing anyway? And how long do the resolutions last? I was talking with my sister the other day about an article she read about people putting undue pressure on themselves to stick to committments that they make at new year. How ridiculous! That’s what a resolution is all about. They’re not supposed to be easy or you’d do them without needing resolve. 

It’s natural to start out with a bang and then fizzle out a bit, so I would have thought it was fairly obvious that any change (and therefore any gratuitous article about resolutions) should start with how realistic a challenge you set for yourself. If you decide to run 10km a day when you’ve never done more than amble through the park (and called it exercise) then you may as well call an ambulance before you go.

Then there are those people that just like to talk about their resolutions when they have absolutely no intention of going through with them. But enough about that, I have some naked weddings to prepare for.

One thought on “With resolve

  1. Pingback: It’s a res/v olution. « Blog of The Hawk

Leave a Reply

