The fever

I have an affliction. I’ve been struck down in the worst way with Christmas fever. I’m over excited, and that’s dangerous. I’ve done all my gift shopping, I’ve bought new decorations for the tree, I’ve organised secret santa in the office, I’ve given Shaun specs for the christmas tree and I’ve searched the house for my own gifts. Now I’m beside myself with waiting.

I finished my shopping yesterday. I only had dad left to buy for. Usually dad is the tricky one. I hate buying stuff for the sake of it – I love buying gifts and I like to get something that the person really wants. This year was easy. Dad has taken up some new hobbies. They are interesting ones. Not the activities themselves, but the circumstances surrounding them. Because mum has been busy writing her doctorate every weekend, he has taken up golf. That in itself isn’t unusual, but the fact that he plays in a ladies 4 is. I thought about buying him a womans golfing outfit. He has a great sense of humour and would no doubt have worn it. I was even more entertained yesterday when I asked him if he wanted to come christmas tree shopping on Saturday morning. He told me that he couldn’t because he has taken up cycling. Cool. I asked him who with. I didn’t expect the answer, although perhaps I should have. A womens cycling squad. Hmmmm.

Anyway, enough taking the piss out of dad. I got him a golf outfit. A mans one.

I got mum a fountain pen. She has always wanted one. I want to get something engraved on it. A short quote to do with writing. I was thinking “We cherish your words” but any better suggestions would be well received.

I got Shaun a gold trundler, Mary a (haha – not telling – I know you read this) and am contributing towards some kind of electronic organiser that mum is getting for Dave. Julio is getting cat treats and Chico is getting a toy.

I spent ridiculous amounts of money on decorations. Now that we have a big house we can get a huge tree. The ceiling stud is 14ft. Shaun is trying to convince me that a tree that big won’t fit on our trailer. I’ll make it fit. So I’ve bought trillions of white doves (and a few red ones) to stick on the tree. The only forseeable issue is the fact that this is Chico’s first Christmas so erecting a large tree full of birds in the lounge may be asking for trouble.

I am then going to stick fairy lights all over the front of the house – another activity that Shaun isn’t wild about.

But that’s never stopped me before.

3 thoughts on “The fever

  1. I have a slight problem with this post. More on that later.

    For you Mum I thought that “It’s not the words; it’s the writer”

    or

    “Fuck the supervisors; I’m right”

    Nice presents for everyone else but here’s my problem: You forgot to mention mine!

    I understand that you don’t want to give too much away otherwise the riff raff that read this will get jealous but I think that a hint is in order. Else how do I choose yours?

  2. I don’t have any good ideas but I have put drew on the task. He is the creative one in our family. I’m with you on xmas. One of the things I miss about working in an office is the secret santa thing!

Leave a Reply

