Why?

Last night as I struggled to get yet another wedding invitation to print out so that it looked how it looks in my head, I wondered why the hell I do this. It was sunny outside. I’d already worked my 8 hour day and spent my lunchtime in the gym. I’d taken a break between jobs in order to cook dinner and make Shaun’s lunch for today (yup – I actually am a good wife, believe it or not) and all I wanted to do was make the most of the last bit of the day and then curl up on the couch and watch some crappy TV.

But no. Hell no. My evening was spent printing, cropping, folding, reprinting so that everything was moved 5 mm, cropping, folding, reprinting to move things back 3mm… you get the picture.

Once I had that invitation perfected, I had 200 flyers to print for a bar, an email address to set up, 3 web pages to complete and 60 pages to format for printing today. Those 60 pages would be the job I screwed up last week when I stuck the wrong bloody picture on the front of someone’s wedding invitation. It showcased their son in his pyjamas.

On the average day I’d be smiling with gratitude that business is going so well. But there are occasions when I sit down and ask myself why the hell I do this. No one else has to go home and work their second job. Well, some people do, but no one sensible. It’s not like we need the money. I have built something that has taken on a life of it’s own and now it would seem that there is no turning back. I run a business. It doesn’t run itself.

I know that what I am doing is a creating a solid foundation for my future. I’m working my butt off for the greater good. I’m a sensible girl. I have to keep reminding myself of this. Especially tomorrow evening when I have to take time off to go to my third job. The one I don’t get paid for.

Why?

6 thoughts on “Why?

  1. Shit! Never write a reaction post Mike; it looks bad.

    My son decided to be sick last night so I’ve had two hours sleep in the last 48. I’ve had a tomorrow deadline for a huge website (completed) I’ve got a new client that wants miracles by tomorrow (done) I’m oiling down work surfaces in the house as I type and tomorrow I’ve got to walk the dog (3 times), look after baby, cook lunch then dinner (and shop for both), entertain said baby, see new client, start packing for holiday, stick broom up my arse and sleep.

    I think it’s called the real world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

