Recharged

I had the most cathartic weekend. It was exactly what I needed to unwind. On Friday we headed down to the country for a weekend retreat with my family. We stayed at this huge old hotel in the middle of nowhere. It was like going back in time.

I spent the weekend reading, sleeping, eating and shopping. We drove to the nearest village on Saturday morning and I shopped up a storm. I even bought Christmas toilet paper. This Christmas sure is going to be special.

The boys spent the weekend playing golf and watching rugby. It meant that I had free reign of the credit cards unimpeded. I spent some time in a natural hot pool. The hot mineral water seeps up out of the ground and into the pool. It is supposed to have healing properties – as long as you don’t put your head under, that is. If you do that, you risk catching amoebic menangitis. Needless to say, dad spent the hour pretending to put his head under in order to annoy mum.

We played some board games and had early nights. For the first time in as long as I can remember, I had time to sit down and read all three weekend papers pretty much cover to cover. It was the perfect way to see in Daylight Savings. I didn’t even notice that we lost an hour.

We headed back home last night in time to pick the cats up and unpack all my shopping. I’m feeling renewed and invigorated.

And not before time.

Leave a Reply

