You are what you eat

I have had a VERY interesting weekend. Not in my usual I-behaved-really-badly way. Quite the opposite in fact. I have behaved uncharacteristically well. As I mentioned last week, I visited a nutritionist on the weekend. Wow! Talk about blow my socks off! She looked at my diet (I had to write down what I eat for 3 days), then looked me in the eye and asked me if I have hormonal imbalances. Shite!

I explained my background to her – the bulimia, the fertility issues and the exercise addiction. She basically said ‘no shit’. We did my body composition calculations. All my perceived ‘fat’ is fluid. My body fat percentage is 21. That is at the very top of the ‘too low’ range. I’m happy with that.

For my psychological health, I don’t weigh myself. I have always been heavy. I now know that it’s because I carry 10kg more muscle than the average woman. That’s what boxing does to you.

So I’m not going to lose weight. I’m going to lose fluid. But more importantly, I’m going to balance out my hormones. I’m excited about it. But it’s hard work.

The evil nutrition witch has removed all the refined sugar, wheat and complex carbohydrates from my diet. I am now exisiting on 6 meals a day of protein, nuts and good fats. I am eating tonnes more food than I was, but none of the things that I crave. The only thing I am allowed to drink is water. After 2 days I miss bread. What I’m going to miss most is pasta. (Apparently I may as well eat flour and water – that’s all it is.)

I’ve started eating protein bars. They give them amazing names like Butterscotch Fudge or Cookies ‘n Cream, but they all taste the same. And it’s not good. Last night Shaun was eating chocolate pudding. I had delicious protein powder mixed with yoghurt. The girls came over for lunch and ate chocolate and drank champagne. I ate nuts and drank water. I did it with a radiant smile though. I’m pretending to love this personal hell!

Truth be known, I am excited about it. If something as simple as changing my diet will have such drastic long term effects as helping me to conceive and stripping the excess fluid from my body so that I look like someone who exercises as much as I do, then it’s worth every bloody disgusting piece of rye cardboard that I have to eat to get there.

I’m sure over time I will become accustomed to eating this way. I have to stick to the diet strictly for a month until the balance comes back. Then we look at intergrating more normal foods in so that it’s sustainable long term.

The only thing that really got me down has nothing to do with eating. I learned that I over-exercise to a degree that is detrimental to my health, especially if I want to get pregnant. So at my next visit I have to choose one workout to axe. I’m not looking forward to that.

And I know you all think I’m crazy.

7 thoughts on “You are what you eat

Leave a Reply

