There’s just no need!

Today I am going to gratuitously bitch about something. I am in a good mood. I’m not bitching for the sake of it. I’m bitching because there is just no need for this type of behaviour.

I’m talking about being rude to waiters and waitresses.

I was brought up to eat pretty much anything. Well, anything that was designed to be eaten. I draw the line at offal and shellfish (which, let’s face it, is just offal in a shell). I am deathly allergic to bananas, but other than that, put it in front of me and I’ll eat it. Cook it especially for me and I’ll eat it even if it looks like shite.

This is clearly not the case with everyone. Over the last couple of weeks I have been in the presence of some behaviour that can only be described as pathetic. I have seen seemingly normal people turn into raging lunatics, all because they didn’t get enough dressing on their lettuce, or because the batter on their tempura was “of a dough-like consistency”.

The way I see it, there are a few ways to handle this sort of situation. If it’s as simple as getting more dressing, ask for it. If it’s complicated, eat the bloody thing and don’t ever order it again. Tell all your friends how awful it was if you must, but don’t turn into some kind of rabid food beast and tear strips of the person that delivered it to you. Not only did they not cook it, but they have the power to do all manner of things to your meal before they bring it back out.

I worked as a waitress during the summer holidays when I was at university. I put up with all sorts of crap. What is it that makes people think that because you work in the hospitality industry you are somehow beneath them?

It also makes the dining experience really unpleasant for the other people that you are with. I HATE it when people are rude in front of me. I feel somehow responsible for their behaviour. 

So cut the crap people. Waiting staff are there to serve you, but they sure as hell aren’t your servants.

4 thoughts on “There’s just no need!

  1. Absolutely agree! My grandma sure tells people what she thinks and it is embarrassing. Today I had a sandwich that was just blah, as in it had no flavor. Not a huge deal but she made sure to tell people about it. She wasn’t super rude about it or anything but today was one of her “better” days!

  2. This sort of behaviour is, I find, only present in those ‘fortunate’ enough (or so they see themselves) never to have worked in a service industry.

    Anyone who has ever worked anywhere in this industry wouldn’t entertain behaving in the way you describe these folk have.

    And those kind of people suck big ****s breakfast tea lunch & supper.

    I think we’re with you on this.

Leave a Reply

