Powered down

Last night was weird. Typical of course, because Shaun is out of the country. Something always seems to happen when I’m left home alone.

I had kickboxing after work. It was a particularly hard workout and I was dripping with sweat. There was some blood as well unfortunately, as a result of my trainer standing on my stomach while I was doing crunches. So I was badly in need of a shower. More than badly in need.

I got home and let myself into the house. I turned the lights on in the lounge and noticed that they were only kinda half strength. It was like the dimmer was down, only it wasn’t. I thought perhaps Shaun had changed the bulbs and I hadn’t noticed. It wasn’t really bright enough to see. The same in the kitchen. The ones in the bathroom and study didn’t go at all.

The TV was working but the stereo wasn’t. That was annoying since the sound from the TV goes through the stereo. The microwave was working but at half power. It was turning at half speed and took 10 minutes to heat a bowl of pasta. The fridge was doing the beeping thing that it does when you leave the door open. It was incessant. After a couple of minutes I opened it and punched the back wall of it so hard that it stopped. I suspect it will never start again.

I stripped out of my wet clothes ready to have a shower. I noticed that the neighbour’s place was completely dark, so there was no point in messing with the fuses (which would have just been asking for trouble) because it was clearly not just us. While I was peering out at the neighbour’s place I noticed him standing at his window in the dark, watching me. I waved. He ran off. I thought that was strange until I realised I was standing in the middle of the semi-lit kitchen, naked.

Anyway, I turned on the shower and waited for it to heat up. It didn’t. There was no way I could get away without having one and I couldn’t put it off any longer because it’s winter here and I was starting to get pretty cold. Apparently the pump that brings the hot water up from downstairs had no power. I jumped in and HOLY MOTHER OF GOD was it cold. I suffered the excrutiating needles of ice water for the shortest possible time. I had to wash my hair. I thought I was going to get hypothermia.

Just as I was stepping out, the power came back on. Typical.

One thought on “Powered down

  1. “While I was peering out at the neighbour’s place I noticed him standing at his window in the dark, watching me. I waved. He ran off. I thought that was strange until I realised I was standing in the middle of the semi-lit kitchen, naked.”

    that made me laugh, really hard 😀

Leave a Reply

