Personal Best

Today is a good day!

This morning was the last Wednesday morning that I’ll be hauling ass to Bootcamp at 0550. Today was the day that we have been working towards for the last 5 weeks. On Day 1 we did fitness testing. It involved military style press-ups (hands under shoulders and elbows skimming rib cage, chest dropping to 5 cm above the ground – much, MUCH harder than a standard press-up), sit-ups and a 2.4km run. Our results were recorded and the aim was to see how much we could improve.

I was a little frustrated about the sit-ups. There was a limit of 130. Once you reached that you had to stop. I would have thought that 200 was a more realistic limit. Anyhow…

My original results were 25 press-ups, 130 sit-ups and 11mins 55secs for the run. I was highly doubtful that I would be able to improve on the press-ups. I do more strength work at boxing than at BC. The run was always going to be a shoo-in. I had to run the first one holding onto my guts because I still had gaping wounds from the surgery.

I decided to do some press-ups last night to see. I got to 23 and I was burning. I figured I could do two more when both Julio and Chico decided to have a fight underneath of me. By the time they vacated I had lost momentum. I wasn’t feeling confident.

Anyhow, I’ve rambled long enough. I managed to pull it out of the bag. I hit the sit-up limit again, managed to haul out 34 press-ups and shaved 41 seconds of my run.

I guess hanging out with the platoon of monkeys for a month hasn’t all been in vain.

Leave a Reply

