Attached

I was upset in the weekend because a friend disappeared. He needed space. I know it was nothing to do with me but it still really hurt. I was talking to another friend about it and he told me that my problem is that I get too attached to people. I guess he’s right to a degree. I suppose everyone has a different view on what ‘too’ attached is, but I am certainly profoundly affected by the emotions of the people that I care about.

I have often wondered if I should have children because if I hurt so much when one of my siblings hurts, I can’t imagine that I would survive the pain of a child. On the flip side, I get great joy from their happiness. I am an emotionally stable person, but only because I have learned to manage the highs and lows. I wear my heart on my sleeve and if I love you, it’ll beat for you as much as it beats for me.

When I think about that rationally I realise that in order to love huge you have to be prepared to hurt huge. It’s the same with anything really… if you want to make the most of what life has to offer, you have to rip off all your clothes and jump in head first. Well, I guess the ripping off the clothes bit is probably unnecessary, but I’ll do anything for a laugh. I love to be loved and you get what you give.

So… do I become too attached to people? Perhaps. Is that a bad thing? I don’t think so. Will it change? Unlikely.

I know I can’t save the world, but you can’t blame a girl for trying.

Leave a Reply

