Animal p0rn

I always laugh when people freak out about using their credit card online. It seems to be pretty common among my parents generation. Dad once asked me if I could check to see if someone had installed software on his computer that reads his keystrokes before he would use his card to upgrade his antivirus software.

Perhaps I was laughing too loudly. It would seem that I have fallen victim to the evil fraudsters. Luckily I seem to have caught them pretty quickly (although we have full protection against credit card fraud here, so at the end of the day it will probably only effect the bank).

I have two credit cards – a Visa and an Amex. I only really use the Amex, the Visa is for emergencies (when Amex isn’t accepted). As a result there are usually only 4 or 5 transactions on each statement. Very lucky, because I don’t usually pay much attention to statements. I noticed just before I went away that there was a debit that I hadn’t expected. I asked Shaun and he didn’t know about it either. I did what any girl would do. I ignored it.

Yesterday my paper statement arrived and I briefly looked at it as I was chucking it. I’m glad I did. There are a couple of VERY dodgy looking transactions. I’m not going to say what they were for because my blog already gets enough hits for people searching for ‘nak3d girls’. Let’s just say it has to do with animals in compromising positions.

So I called the bank and they are investigating. In the mean time they have cancelled my Visa. That in itself isn’t a problem. The problem lies in the fact that I have a money card and Visa all in one. So they had to cancel both. It takes 3-5 working days for a new card to arrive. Shaun is out of the country. Tricky.

The bank girl suggested that I go to a money machine and draw out enough cash to tide me over. WTF? How much is that??? That was 5pm yesterday. I told her it would probably take me a couple of hours before I could get to one. She said shewould cancel my card first thing this morning.

Typically, it wasn’t until I got home and took all my clothes off that I remembered. Damn. I figured I’d get up 10 minutes earlier than usual and get some cash on the way to the gym. There was no way she was going to cancel the card before 5am. Banks don’t open until 9am.

Wrong.

I put my card into the machine and it swallowed it. It beeped and said that my card had been retained pending investigation. I did the fingers at the camera and will now spend the rest of the week starving to death.

I hope those fraudsters enjoy that dirty animal p0rn.

Leave a Reply

