Just like in the (horror) movies

Two really interesting things happened last night. Well, one really interesting one, and one that just made me look stupid – which would be interesting if it didn’t happen so frequently.

I had my first night back sparring since the holidays. Three weeks doesn’t seem like a long time but boy do you lose fitness. I was panting by the end of the warm-up. My trainer is like some kind of crazy S&M fiend, and my exhaustion just seemed to rev him up more. We finished the session with 100 situps (See? What kind of bastard would make someone do that on their first day back?) and I didn’t even have the energy to stop him whacking me in the stomach every time. But that’s not the point of the story.

I don’t pay much attention to what makeup I buy. I generally just grab something with packaging that looks cool. Last week I got new mascara. It seemed to be doing a fair enough job. Until I started sweating. Apparently there are two kinds of mascara. The waterproof kind and the other kind. The other kinds runs in rivers down your face and all over your clothes when you sweat. If you have boxing gloves on there is very little you can do about it. Nothing in fact. The black sweat then has the tendency to fill your mouthguard and stain your teeth. I looked like something out of a horror movie. Doesn’t taste that flash either.

Then came the really interesting thing. I rewarded myself after training in the only way I know. I headed down to Suite and started sinking drinks. I got a call from mum to say that there was a really amazingly bright comet in the sky. I ran outside to check it out but unfortunately all I could see were skyscrapers. Apparently it’s going to be around for a week so I’ll have to make sure I spend one evening away from the centre of the city.

It’ll be hard…

4 thoughts on “Just like in the (horror) movies

Leave a Reply

