You dirty, rotten… something.

Something in my fridge is alluding me. Whilst doing this alluding, it is rotting itself to death. It’s been going on for a couple of days now. At first I thought I was imagining it, but now I’m convinced.

When I open the door I can smell it. On Sunday it was really faint, but it’s getting more powerful by the day. I can’t figure out what it is. Since we have only recently got back from holiday, there isn’t much in the fridge. There is the usual collection of mayonnaise jars and sauce bottles, six eggs, two potatoes, one onion, some cheese, some cat meat, some Philly lite, 2 litres of milk, a dozen assorted beers and 4 bottles of wine. (I’m possibly giving away to much here). I clearly need to do some grocery shopping.

Yesterday I took out all those things and smelled them one by one. The cats were watching me. I felt silly. None of them appeared to smell (the things in the fridge, not the cats). I’m not sure what approach to take next. It’s not like it’s an old fridge. We bought it about a year and a half ago and I’ve been good at keeping it clean.

It reminds me of a summer holiday we went on a few years ago. Our motel unit smelt so bad that we couldn’t stay in there for any length of time without gagging. It was unbelievable and was clearly coming from the kitchen. We told the owner who made some throwaway comment about it having ‘a bit of a smell’. Finally, Mary cracked and pulled the fridge apart. There was the rotting carcass of a fish in the catch tray.

I know there is no rotting fish in our fridge at home. The closest we’ve had to a fish in our fridge is a prawn. Hmmm… maybe there’s a prawn in the catch tray.

Whatever it is, I’m not going to let it beat me…

4 thoughts on “You dirty, rotten… something.

  1. The cats were probably watching you to see if you would find the half eaten bird they left behind the fridge for you.. šŸ™‚

  2. GROSS. And hilareous. I was picturing you frantically smelling things as they pile up on your counter. Oh I also pictured you cursing to yourself as you did it. šŸ˜›
    Hope you find it!

Leave a Reply

