Blood sports

We went to the K-1 on Saturday night. My boxing trainer was fighting. It was awesome. I didn't realise how tense I was until his fight was over. I think I expended about 1000 calories by sitting there with every muscle in my body clenched.

As a general rule I don't like blood sports. There is something pretty gross about watching two people beat each other up. As an ex-martial artist I appreciate the sportsmanship side of it, but in judo you don't tend to see the same level of violence as you do in kick-boxing, and at K-1 level it doesn't get much more violent. Except maybe cage fighting.

I've only been once before and the crowd was so violent that I couldn't handle it. It wasn't like that this time, and knowing someone that is fighting makes it that much more exciting. Anyway, he won, so he goes on to the next round in the Kings of Oceania championships.

It's fair to say that I'm a new fan.

Leave a Reply

