It’s a cliche, but it’s true.

Life really is short.

It's one of those things that we say all the time, but don't often stop and think about. I know people (as we all do) that have died before their time, and it has made me realise that if it was to happen to me, I want to make sure I haven't left anything important unsaid. I want people to remember me as I want to be remembered.

It's not really that big of a deal. Stop and take stock of what is important in your life. What would you most miss if you lost it? What do you value most? Who do you love? Do they know? I don't want to die with regrets. That means that I have to make sure that I don't have any NOW.

I think that too many people have the attitude that there is time to change later. That may not be the case. I don't mean to sound morbid. I don't have a romantic view of death. I don't spend much time thinking about it. I guess I am really talking about life.

There is that old adage about dancing like no-one is watching. That's how I want to live. I don't have space in my life for toxic relationships, and I don't have time for bullshit. I don't like secrets and lies, and I don't want anyone to have misconceptions about me.

I think it is as simple as greeting people with a hug, and telling them you love them before you have up the phone. (Note – this may not be appropriate on business calls).

I sound like I'm preaching. I don't mean too. Just stop for a second and think about whether you are living your life as big as you can.

I am.

One thought on “It’s a cliche, but it’s true.

Leave a Reply

