Wake up and smell the coffee

I'm being really naughty lately.

It's not actually as exciting as it sounds. I have been breaking all these rules that I've lived by for a long time. One of them is eating breakfast. I am definitely a subscriber to the you-have-to-eat-breakfast rule. It kick-starts your metabolism and sets you up for the day.

Lately (since my wedding I guess) I haven't been eating breakfast at all. Aside from a team breakfast meeting last Friday, I can't remember the last time I had it. I don't even have a reason. It's weird. Even weirder is that I have started drinking coffee instead. I was never really a big coffee drinker. Maybe once a week. If I needed caffeine I had Red Bull.

I have porcelain caps on my teeth (the result of a drunken university accident) which get easily stained. Hence the no coffee. Now I have two cups a morning followed by lots of water swilling. I'm turning into a weirdo.

I guess the fact that I get up before 6am and do an hours workout probably makes up for the metabolism thing, but deep down I know that coffee really doesn't count for breakfast.

Although I do add milk for protein.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by HAWK. Bookmark the permalink.

4 thoughts on “Wake up and smell the coffee

  1. I’m not sure whether this helps but the expression for “breakfast” in Brazil is actually “Morning coffee”: therefore, if you ever think it’s strange to be drinking coffee this early in the morning… yeah, this doesn’t make much sense.

    😀

  2. Every morning for last couple of years I have a cup of coffee and one apple. Apple is enough to keep my metabolism busy for new few hours, and I feel great whole morning. First real meal I have is lunch, around 5 hours after “breakfast”. I remember when I used to eat in the morning, I would always feel sleepy after it. It just doesn’t make sense to feel that way in the morning after night sleep. 🙂

  3. I rarely eat breakfast and haven’t in years. I’m not a big coffee drinker but instead rely on Mountain Dew as my crutch. 😦 haha.. That has been my morning drink for probably 10 years. It’s SO bad for me and I try to stop. I’m actually at about twice a week now for Dew in the morning, but I still don’t eat breakfast.

    I’m sure your body will be ok and sort itself out! We’re more resiliant and adaptable than we think!

Leave a Reply

