The best place in the world.

I was born and raised in Auckland, New Zealand. I know everyone feels a sense of loyalty to the place they call home, but I love this place more that most, I suspect. I love it not only because it holds all of my childhood memories, but because it has spirit. You never know what to expect of Auckand.

It is a city of many faces. With a population of just over 1 million, it is a small city by world standards, but it contains over a quarter of the population of this country. I am not sure of the exact geographical size of Auckland, but it is HUGE. We are up there with the top in the world when it comes to physical space per capita. Because Auckland sits between two harbours, there are hundreds of islands that make for great day trips. In fact, this city is known as the City of Sails. There are hundreds of thousands of boats in the harbours.

The maori people know Auckland as Tamaki Makau Rau, or the city of 100 lovers. The name was earned because it is a city that is loved by all.

I think what I love best about Auckland is how green it is. There are so many parks and reserves. It is impossible to drive more than 1km without passing a park. I live beside the biggest and most beautiful of them all – Cornwall Park. It is 81 hectares of green, and is  home to One Tree Hill. If you’ve read my bio, you’ll know that I have One Tree Hill tattooed on my right hip. It gives me a sense of place, even if I’m feeling lost.

So – if you haven’t been to Auckland, I swear – you don’t know what you’re missing.

Auckland Skyline

One Tree Hill Auckland at night

One thought on “The best place in the world.

  1. Oh Sarah, I’m so jealous. I want to come to New Zealand SO BAD. It’s been a future vacation destination of mine for soooo long.

    Just like a lot of other people, I was turned on to the beauty of the countryside while watching the LOTR movies. My boyfriend and I loved it so much that we even researched moving there for a while. It seems so lovely. But then I got pregnant and had my son – and I have a hard time thinking about moving him away from a large portion of his family here.

    But I’ve still always wanted to visit, and I plan to very very soon.

    You’re lucky, it sounds like you love it and it looks beautiful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

