I’m a good person. I am.

Last night I did my first official shift as a Youthline counsellor. I have to admit that I was pretty nervous going into it. Training aside, the responsibility seems quite daunting at times. To be honest though, I was more nervous about doing something I hadn’t done before – like first-day-at-school nerves, than actually taking a call.

As it turns out, it was fantastic! It really is true what they say… helping other people really does make you feel good.

4 thoughts on “I’m a good person. I am.

  1. Pretty much anything… depression, violence in the family, relationship issues, bullying, confusion over gender or sexual identity, grief, anger issues.
    Unfortunately there are also suicidal callers, and frustratingly… sexual gratification callers.

    Some people just call because they are lonely, some need to talk through an issue to clear things in their heads, some need a referral to another help organisation. The name is misreprentative of the service as well – it is not just youth. A large proportion of the calls are from adults. We help anyone…!

  2. I think what you’re doing is great …even though you have to wade through the creeps, you are impacting someone’s life (hopefully for the better) and what could be more gratifying than that?

Leave a Reply

